Falling off the wagon

Spending a few sun filled days in Ibiza with friends was just what was needed for my tired mind. However, as it always seems to be, a few days of indulgence leads to a slippery slope of binge eating. Food. What a lovely and deceptively evil thing it is. I haven’t really ever struggled with food but I do love to eat and my god I have a sweet tooth. The important thing to remember is ‘a few days bad eating does not equal complete failure’.

A few days of wine and BBQ’s, topped off with comfort food upon return, followed by a family Bank Holiday weekend. You do the math. If you’re going to indulge then do it properly and make sure you enjoy it! I really do not see the point in punishing yourself for it. What I have to remember now is that whilst those sugary treats were lovely, I can’t take comfort in them on a regular basis. A treat once in a while is fine, but when I get into a habit of regular cookie binges then there is a problem.

The catalyst for my sweet tooth was discovered at university. I ate and drank what I wanted, when I wanted. All processed cheap food, crisps, biscuits, fizzy drinks. Everything bad, that was in my kitchen, and shamefully in my bedside cabinet. My skin didn’t thank me for it and neither did my body. I felt sluggish a lot of the time and I carried the weight in my face and belly. I rarely exercised and to be honest it was just all a bit dire, but I didn’t care, I had the time of my life at Uni!

Now I still struggle with the sweet stuff, I always crave chocolate or biscuits but I have come to a healthy understanding with my body. Fruit and yogurt for breakfast (or cereal, depends how much money I have left), fruit or raisins to snack on during the day, decent lunch of salad with chicken and then a substantial dinner, Lean in 15 I have found particularly great or I just throw whatever I have into a pan. It’s those evening snack attacks and weekend meltdowns where I cave, and when I cave I go full on. Whole tub of ice cream, yup, packet of Cadburys mix bag chocolate, oh you bet cha. I can really go to town when I get started. Then follows the guilt and shame. But that’s okay, you have to dust off the biscuit crumbs, forgive yourself and start fresh as soon as you can, that evening, the next morning. Now. It’s as much the mind as it is the body in this fitness journey. That reminds me, a return to the gym after over a week off… my body will thank me eventually, right?

Leave a Reply

